Student Affirmative Action Committee

The Student Affirmative Action Committee (SAAC), formed in 1975, is a UC San Diego student coalition committed to upholding the principles of educational equity and opposing institutional oppression. SAAC is dedicated to fighting ignorance, addressing the issues confronting historically underrepresented and/or underserved students and promoting cross-cultural awareness and communication by strengthening the bonds between students and organizations. Core members of SAAC include the Asian and Pacific-Islander Student Alliance (APSA), Black Student Union (BSU), Kaibigang Pilipin@ (KP), Movimiento Estudiantil Chican@ de Aztlan (MEChA), Muslim Student Association (MSA), Native American Student Alliance (NASA), Queer People of Color (QPOC), and Students with Disabilities Coalition (SDC).

As a Student Affirmative Action Committee (SAAC) organization and a core organization of the Student Promoted Access Center for Education and Service (SPACES), KP strives to provide underprivileged communities with the resources they need to access higher education, assist in the retention and matriculation of underprivileged students within the undergraduate population, and educate and spread awareness concerning the struggle and sociopolitical issues of the Pilipin@ and Pilipin@-American community.